Tuesday, 5 March 2013

Alabama Shakes' Brittany Howard and Ruby Amanfu on Third Man Single, Dave Grohl Sound City Stream & More -- News Roundup

Alabama Shakes' Brittany Howard and Ruby Amanfu, Jack White's duet partner who performed with him during the 2013 Grammy Awards, have teamed up for a EP of jazz and blues covers on White's own label, Third Man Records. Listen to the songs here. [SPIN]

Taking album launch shows to the next level, NPR will live-stream Josh Ritter in concert tonight (Monday, March 4) at 8PM ET. Tune in to hear his new LP The Beast in Its Tracks live from NYC, plus some older material. [NPR]

Our recent interviewees, the ska-influenced Chicagoan brother-sister band Wild Belle, announced on their Facebook page today that their upcoming debut album Isles is now available to stream with lucky radio stations KCRW, WXPN and KCMP. Give them a listen in anticipation of our exclusive interview and their upcoming SXSW gigs.

You can now stream the soundtrack accompanying Dave Grohl's Sound City documentary online, courtesy of NPR. The tracklist fittingly features an abundance big names including Stevie Nicks, Josh Homme, Paul McCartney, and Trent Reznor. [CoS]

Devendra Banhart's upcoming new album Mala, due out March 12, is also available to stream on NPR this week. It's hard to believe this is the same guy who put out both Smokey Rolls Down Thunder Canyon (2007) and What Will We Be (2009), but this just goes to show that Banhart is one of few constantly-evolving artists we are always happy to hear from.

A certain "wealth-tracking" website is reporting that Ian MacKaye, frontman of legendary punk band Minor Threat and post-hardcore act Fugazi, is (or should be) worth $25 million. Yes, that's twenty-five million dollars. We knew he was the co-founder and owner of indie label Dischord Records, so he must be doing all right in his post-punk rocker life, but we can't help but be skeptical of this figure. But if it's legit, someone will need to remind us how, why, and when punk became so profitable. [Dangerous Minds]

Source :


Post a Comment

Copyright (c) 2010 Andrew Surwilo Franklin - The Perfect Musicians. Design by WPThemes Expert
Blogger Templates by Buy My Themes.